Catalog and Databases

online catalog screen

Directions | Library Information | Library from Home | Site Index

 

Library Catalog

IBistro Catalog (Farmington Catalog -
My Account, Renew)
- Catalog Instructions

ReQuest -- Statewide library catalog

 

downloadable audio image

 

grab and go logo


email envelopeSign up for the 
Library's eNewsletter

 

 

 

Farmington and ICONN Research Databases

(this text box is an experimental gateway into the majority of the library's databases,
you will be prompted for a barcode if you are at home)
iConn Image Type in your keyword(s) then click on Search:
Search

Subject Categories

Art & Antiques Encyclopedias Music
Atlases Health Newspaper & Current Events
Automotive History & Genealogy Science
Biographies Legal Spanish Language Resources
Business Library Catalogs Telephone Directory
Children's Databases Literature Tests-Academic & Employment
Cultural & Social Science Magazine Indexes

Farmington Library Logo  Accessible from home/office with your Farmington library card.
 

iCONN logo  Accessible from home/office with any Connecticut public library card.

 

Art

iCONN logo
Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headware, Body Decoration and Footwear Through the Ages. Cultural and social implications of human decoration and adornment focusing on the 20th century
From the Library | From Home
 
 


Return to Subject Categories

Atlases

Farmington Library Logo World Book Online Reference Center
Comprehensive coverage for in-depth research including articles, bibliographies, graphics, maps, flags, and Internet links
From the Library | From Home

Return to Subject Categories

 

Automotive Repair

Farmington Library Logo

Auto Repair Reference Center
General and repair information on manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles
From the Library | From Home


Return to Subject Categories

 

Biographies

iCONN logo Biography Resource Center
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Biography & Genealogy Master Index
From the Library | From Home
   
Farmington Library Logo  
Discovering Collection
A collection of 21 databases covering history, literature, biography, science and social studies
From the Library | From Home
   


Return to Subject Categories

 

Business

iCONN logo

Business & Company Resource Center
Comprehensive company & industry information
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Encyclopedia of Small Business
Articles covering all aspects of small business management
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History
Includes era overviews, biographies, and event/movement, business/industry, and geographic profiles
From the Library | From Home
   
Farmington Library Logo  

Reference USA (For Login Problems go to Reference USA and then Help)
Telephone numbers for 120 million US households and 12 million US businesses
From the Library | From Home


Return to Subject Categories

 

Children's Databases

Farmington Library Logo TumbleBooks
e-books for e-kids
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Blackbirch Kid's Visual Reference of the United States
Graphs, charts, maps and photographs
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Blackbirch Kid's Visual Reference of the World
Graphs, charts, maps, and photographs
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo
Discovering Collection
A collection of 21 databases covering history, literature, biography, science and social studies
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo  
InfoTrac Junior Edition
Multi-source, curriculum based reference tool for junior high and middle school students
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo  
InfoTrac Kid's Edition
Full-text journals, maps, almanacs, and news articles for the k-6 student
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo  
What Do I Read Next?
Readers Advisory tool for all age groups
From the Library | From Home
   
Farmington Library Logo  
World Book Online Reference Center
Comprehensive coverage for in-depth research including articles, bibliographies, graphics, maps, flags, and Internet links
From the Library | From Home


Return to Subject Categories

 

Cultural & Social Science

iCONN logo Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence & Security
History, uses, related scientific principles and technology of espionage and intelligence
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Encyclopedia of Population
Covers large-scale changes and research in population studies during the last 20 years
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headware, Body Decoration and Footwear Through the Ages
Cultural and social implications of human decoration and adornment focusing on the 20th century
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Religion, holidays, customs, languages, historical background and settlement patterns in ethinic and culture groups in the US
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Television, movies, theater, art, books, magazines, radio, music, sports, fashion, health, politics, trends, community life and advertising
From the Library | From Home

Return to Subject Categories

Encyclopedias

iCONN logo Renaissance: An Encyclopedia for Students
Focuses on the Renaissance-era topics most studied in high school world history, art, literature, economics and science
From the Library | From Home
   
Farmington Library Logo
World Book Online Reference Center
Comprehensive coverage for in-depth research including articles, bibliographies, graphics, maps, flags, and Internet links
From the Library | From Home


Return to Subject Categories

 

Health

iCONN logo Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
Medical practices, therapies for specific disorders and diseases and medicinal uses of plants and herbs
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer
Specific cancer types, diagnostic procedures, treatments, cancer side effects and cancer drugs
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
Conditions, tests, procedures, treatments, and therapies
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Causes, symptoms, diagnosis, conditions, tests, procedures and treatments of common medical disorders
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Medical information for health professionals & general readers
From the Library | From Home


Return to Subject Categories

 

History & Genealogy

iCONN logo
Discovering Collection
A collection of 21 databases covering history, literature, biography, science and social studies
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence & Security
History, uses, related scientific principles and technology of espionage and intelligence
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Encyclopedia of Population
Covers large-scale changes and research in population studies during the last 20 years
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headware, Body Decoration and Footwear Through the Ages
Cultural and social implications of human decoration and adornment focusing on the 20th century
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Religion, holidays, customs, languages, historical background and settlement patterns in ethinic and culture groups in the US
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History
Includes era overviews, biographies, and event/movement, business/industry, and geographic profiles
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo
HeritageQuest Online
U.S. federal census, family records and local histories
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo
Historical Hartford Courant
Full-page coverage from 1764-1984
From the Library | From Home
   
Farmington Library Logo
Historical New York Times
Full-text and full-image articles  from 1851-1999
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo
History Reference Center
Articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, reference and non-fiction books; biographies, documents and speeches, maps and photographs
From the Library | From Home
   
Farmington Library Logo New England Ancestor.Org
Genealogical data with emphasis on families and communities connected to New England
From the Library
   
iCONN logo St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Television, movies, theater, art, books, magazines, radio, music, sports, fashion, health, politics, trends, community life and advertising
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo
Wilson Biographies Plus
Illustrated profiles of over 72,000 individuals from antiquity to the present
From the Library | From Home


Return to Subject Categories

Legal

iCONN logo LegalTrac
Law-related articles and indexing for law reviews, legal newspapers and journals
From the Library | From Home

Return to Subject Categories

Library Catalogs

 
 
CONNECT Library Catalogs
West Hartford and other Hartford-area catalogs
   
iCONN logo   Connecticut Library Homepages
List of Web accessible libraries in Connecticut
   
  Hartford Public Library Catalog
   
iCONN logo reQuest Statewide Catalog - Books and Serials
Search for books and audio-visual materials
   
iCONN logo  WorldCat.org
Search collections of libraries from the the U.S. and the world


Return to Subject Categories

 

Literature

iCONN logo

What Do I Read Next?
Readers Advisory tool for all age groups
From the Library | From Home


Return to Subject Categories

 

Magazine Indexes

iCONN logo Academic OneFile
Articles for leading journals and reference sources covering many subject areas
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo
Expanded Academic ASAP
Periodicals covering all academic concentrations
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo
General Reference Center Gold
Multi-source general interest reference tool
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Informe! (Revistas en Espanol)
Full-test Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo
General OneFile
General interest, business and periodicals
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo  
InfoTrac Student Edition
Multi-source, curriculum based reference tool for high school students
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo
Educator's Reference Complete
Full-text periodicals for teachers and school administrators
From the Library | From Home

Return to Subject Categories

 

Newspapers and Current Events

iCONN logo
Associated Press Photo Archive
Over 750,000 photos and graphics from the Associated Press
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo

Daily Newspapers
Full-text articles from Hartford Courant, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, Los Angeles Times and Christian Science Monitor
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo

Historical Hartford Courant
Full-page coverage from 1764-1984
From the Library | From Home
   
Farmington Library Logo
Historical New York Times
Full-text and full-image articles  from 1851-1999
From the Library | From Home


Return to Subject Categories

 

Science

iCONN logo Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America
Habitats and ecosystems of species identified as endangered or threatened
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Biology
History, commericial applications of research in biology, ethical issues and careers in biology
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo Science Reference Center
Articles from scientific reference books, magazines, journals; biographies and images
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo UXL Encyclopedia of Landforms and Other Geological Features
Physical and geological aspects, structure and features of 24 of earth's landforms
From the Library | From Home
   
iCONN logo
 
World of Earth Science
Concepts, theories, discoveries, pioneers and issues relating to earth science
From the Library | From Home


Return to Subject Categories

 

Spanish Language Resources

iCONN logo
Informe! (Revistas en Espanol)
Full-text Spanish-language and bilingual periodicals
From the Library | From Home


Return to Subject Categories

Telephone Directory

Farmington Library Logo

Reference USA (For Login Problems go to Reference USA and then Help)
Telephone numbers for 120 million US households and 12 million US businesses
From the Library | From Home

Return to Subject Categories

 

Tests - Academic and Employment

Farmington Library Logo
Testing & Education Resource Center
Online practice exams: academic, professional, civil service, citizenship and more
From the Library | From Home


Return to Subject Categories

 

 


Direct any questions, comments or suggestions regarding the web site to: tmatava @ farmingtonlibct.org